Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,
First of all, nice to be here! :fish:
I have been keeping Cihclids for almost 20 years, had many tanks in the past, Malawi and Tanganyika but had to give a break when I moved to another Country(Brazil). Now I just started all again and decided to go for a Malawi Mbuna mixed tank.

Video of my tank:

The fish are all juvies, 2" the biggest..and they are doing "fine" for now. Removed the P. Tropheops cause it killed a Saulosi and was being really nasty like I never seen equal.
Anyway, I would like to add another specie to the tank, since I will want more blue color in it. So I would like to hear ideas. I neever kept mixed Cichlids tanks before, ALWAYS species specific, so believe or not, it's still kind of new to me. The fish bio load right now is at 20 fish, and I would like to introduce maybe 6-8 more of another specie. A group of 6 C. Afra white top comes to mind, and it's easy to find it here(we have WAY less varieties here)but I'm worried about the Saulosi?

Any other ideas?

Thanks in advance! :)

C.

·
Registered
843 Posts
cap70 said:
Stock list as of now:

4x Saulosi
4x Lombardoi
4x Trewasavae Red Top
1x Red Zebra
3x Yellow Labs
2x Acei's (that I forgot to mention in the video!)

Another video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6st6AI9F ... re=related
I see that it's a 100g, but it's still 4" long, which is restrictive (Mbuna need length to set up territories). Unfortunately, I do see some problems (won't happen now but a year down the line).

I would get more Kenyi, M. lombardoi. They're fairly aggressive. I'd aim for 1 male, 6-7 females.
I would also get the ratio for labs and Acei to at least 1m, 2-3 females. They're more peaceful so the males don't need as many girlfriends...A trio of labs would work, just make sure you don't have two males. And a male Acei will still need at least 2 females (or he'll chase the one girl to death).