Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would like to start this by saying, I have been raising African Cichlids for almost 30 years. It gets tiresome reading so many posts about how wrong others are for the way they set up their tanks and how one thing is so much better than the other.

I hope new Cichlid owners realize, so much of what you are reading is just opinion, as is what you will read below. To all the old timers, quit making it so difficult for the newbies. My way is more risky than some others and is by no means the only way.

My tank: Way to many fish; didn't realize this until the Friday Disaster when I lost my 55 Gallon to a big leak. Needless to say everyone is till alive and thriving in the new 55.

Substrate: have always used aquarium gravel. Should I use sand? Probably. Never had problems with gravel other than the fish love moving it around.

Decor: Caves and more caves and lots of the silk type plants that petco sells. Sorry, I want lots of color. Most of the caves can't be seen from the front because of all the fake plants. Fish seem to love all the hiding places.

Water testing: I don't and I haven't in 25 years. Set up tank, get filter going and used the API Quick Start to get cycle going. Waited three days, added fish. Because of my travels with the U.S Air Force, I have set up a few tanks. Now that I am a retired from the Air Force, my current tank has been set up for eight years (well until Friday). I did have the water tested recently at Petco (employee I trust) just because of all the hoopla I have read on here. Needless to say, good to go.

Now the most important part of this post:

Filtration: We need to remember, for most this is not about whats best, it's about what someone can afford or maybe just about what fits in the area where the tank is located.