Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

I'm new and wanted to chronicle my project. Mostly because this is my first time setting up a tank of this size. I'm hoping that great insights might be offered at key moments to keep me from having big issues later. Here are the facts as of today.

The tank is set on its stand in place by my work area (home office). The stand had a little lateral wiggle to it that I wasn't comfortable with. So, today I built in some supports. Photo follows. On the advice I've received on this site, I took the two Penguin 200 HOB's (that I had ordered when I thought I was going to be setting up a 75g tank) back to PetSmart and ordered 2 Emperor 400's. I received 100lbs. of Tahitian Moon sand today (I have another 100lbs. ordered that will come next week), as well as my two 250W visi-therm heaters, my C-360, my 2 four packs of Tetra plants, and my "Little Time and Temp" thermometer. I cut, cleaned, and install two egg crate panels in the bottom of the tank after a thorough cleaning with plain water and a new sponge. Here are the picks:

Here's the head-on view of my tank, it's going to be very striking. Note the egg crate in place.

Here's a 3/4 view of the tank.

Here's a picture of one of the two supports that I built into the cabinets of the tank. The vertical 2x4's go from top to bottom and the two horizontal ones go from one wall to the other. I used Heavy Duty Quick Grip construction adhesive on the 2x4's to tie them together and to the cabinet walls. I did this because I know the particle board doesn't take to screws very well. Felt that the adhesive will give the boards a more positive contact to the rest of the stand. Once the supports were in I tested the stands movement and it is COMPLETELY solid. No movement whatsoever. :) :thumb: