Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I wanted to take a closer look in my crawlspace to assess how weight will be distributed and if my 150 gallon will be safe.

My house is 100 years old (newly renovated), long and wide (shotgun style) at about 24' wide. There are supports of cinder block or brick every 8 feet, using 3 joists from end to end. Joists are spaced about every 12 inches. There are some newer ones, and much older ones as well.

What do y'all experts think? My 150g will be over 6 joists resting on brick, against an outside wall. Stand is 77" long and 20" wide, and has a flat bottom (not just perimeter of the walls) Thank you!

Attachments

·
Registered
136 Posts
I am not a structural engineer, and I suspect if someone here is, they're not likely to render a professional opinion without personal examination. FWIW, I've not known anyone in a pier & beam home with a tank as large as you're proposing (knew one with a 75, but only briefly so can't even say if there may have been a long-term issue or not). Just from walking through the few I have, most I would not have trusted with even a 75. That's not to say it can't/won't work, just a suggestion to be careful, and to reiterate my statement that having a professional take a look is probably well worth the money that it would cost. I'm especially suspicious of that brick. What does it rest on? What load is it capable of handling? Remember, any chain is only as good as its weakest link. Which is yours?

On a completely unrelated note, it looks like some of the gaps between joists are insulated, and some are not. Not sure about general practice in Atlanta (where moisture especially might be a concern), but in more northerly climes, you can often save quite a bit of money insulating under the floor.

·
Registered
449 Posts