Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys,

I have an established 29 gallon tank with 5 Multies in it, I am starting to get a lot of algae. Any suggestions for a algae eater tankmate? I have gotten mixed stories from the lfs. One person told me I would have an issue with cats eating my multies and another said the multies will rip apart the cat. Any suggestions and hopefully experiences?

Thanks!

·
Registered
147 Posts
I think it's a 50-50 shot. But every time I have tried to put a pleco with cichlids they eventually decide he is not welcome. Usually this occurs after he has done a great job cleaning the tank for them.

·
Registered
80 Posts
I have no experience with nerite snails....but I trust the opinions of those on this site that do and swear by them for algae clean up. Do a forum search on them and you'll see what I mean.

·
Registered
48 Posts
I have Siamese algae eaters now in my two Tang tanks. One which is a 10 gallon multies tank. They get along great with all the fish, the look cool and swim around a lot, acting as dithers, and they eat ALL algae, even the red/black hairy algae and the hard green spot algae. They are also known as Flying Foxes. Just make sure when you buy them that they are not Chinese algae eaters, which look almost identical but aren't as great at cleaning. You can tell by the single horizontal black stripe, if it runs all the way through the tail fin, you've got the real deal. Pretty inexpensive too.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Definately will look into the siamese algae eater, how big will he get and is there anything particular to place in there for shelter? Maybe some rocks or driftwood?

·
Super Moderator
40,483 Posts
I have not tried Siamese algae eaters as yet because I was told they need a bigger tank and like to be in groups. At the time I had a 36" tank.