Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ahh newbie here! (shocking) I haven't done this much research online since I was pregnant...

Okay. Tank started Christmas Day... 55gl 48"lx12"w cycled for one week+ w plants before fish, thought it was finished (got go ahead from LFS) but still cycling when we started introducing fish, we struggled w high nitrites for a while. It's leveled out but is still a delicate new system. Current levels are good (I think);

no2 zero --- no3 >5.0 --- ph 8.2 --- Ammonia is high, .25 .5 our tap ammonia is at .5 and I only started testing ammonia once we started having sickness, so it could be a weird reading bc of adding meds and prime and water changes daily (??)
I added API ammo lock but it doesn't seem to have done anything. before sickness We were doing 1 weekly 25%/50% water change, now that we are medicating we are doing 20% water changes daily so the ammonia is... hard to grasp.

Our stock:
2 juli
2 star sapphire
4 red zebra
4 acei (yellow tail)
1 otto
3 bn plecos
6 boesemani rainbows
9+ snails
I realize this is a very full tank. Fish are all juvenile ranging from 1 inch to 3 inches (we're fantasizing about upgrading to a 120gl 48"Lx 24"w tank within the year.

Forza 40-80 filter, two aerators and a TON of plants.

Problem: everything was going great and then I realized the fuzz on our rainbows mouths (which they arrived with) was not just a little beat up mouth from fighting but rot and while looking closely saw that they also were sporting a few small ich spots. JOY! :( I blame us for ich, we weren't great about keeping water temp level during water changes at first plus yah, new tank, shipped fish, it just isn't surprising. (rookie mistakes! :oops: )