Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to cichlids as of four months ago. I currently have a 75g stocked with mbuna and will soon be upgrading them to a 125g (it is ready to go). I have the following stock that I will be transferring over, and will be adding some synodontis petricola (assuming lucipinnis) if/when I can. Current stock is:

75G Tank (stocked for 4 months)
6 Pseudotropheus Sp. Acei (yellow tail acei), size is ~3.5"
6 Labidochromis caeruleus (yellow lab), size is ~2-2.5"
4 Metriaclima estherae (Red Zebra), size is ~2-3"
4 Metriaclima Callainos (Cobalt Blue Zebra), size is ~2-3"
4 Pseudotropheus cyaneorhabdos (Maingano), size is ~2-2.5"

10G Tank (just stocked 1 wk ago)
6 synodontis petricola (assuming lucipinnis), size is ~1-1.25"

All were stocked as juvenials/very young adults at the beginning of October 2017. I don't know the exact m/f ratios, but asked for 1m/3f on the red zebras and cobalt blue zebras (vendor was trying to vent the red/cobalt blue zebras, but I don't know about his accuracy). I didn't know much about cross breed/hybrids when I was stocking (so I get that my current mix will not be viewed well by some), however I'm not planning to keep/sell fry, so I'm not super concerned about cross breed/hybrids (please don't hate on me).

Both 75 and 125 are stuffed with rock work. Aggression doesn't seem to be a problem at this stage (though I know that I'm early on). I was thinking of adding a barred species when I move to the 125g. Was thinking of one the following: Cynotilapia Afra Jalo, Cynotilapia Afra Lupingu, Labidochromis Hongi, or Labidochromis Mbamba. However, I have read a lot of posts on this site about doing 5 species of 1m/4f in a 125G. Also have read that mainganos should be in 1m/7f ratios.

I have a couple questions.