Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys,

Just want to thank you ahead of time for the feedback and your time! I'm new to the fish keeping hobby and I have a 95-gallon Mbuna tank with a sump. Currently stocked with two electric labs, two red top trewavasae, one chipokae, and one socolifi. I don't have a quarantine tank but I have my tank set up with a UV Sterilizer. I notice this evening that both of my red top's have some battle scars on their bodies and have some scales that are coming off and white marks from rubbing up on the texas holy rocks. What do I need to do to help the fish? I'm going to be changing up the rock work and maybe adding some artificial plants to help out. I went ahead and added some stress guard to the tank to promote healing but what else do you guys suggest. I'm thinking about adding another yellow lab, red top and three ochre trewavassae, and three red top hongi to my tank. Please let me know your thoughts and suggestions. After reading more about the Chipokae and Socolifi I have understood that wasn't the best choice but I was miss led by a fish store in the Dallas area.

·
Super Moderator
40,491 Posts
Welcome to Cichlid-forum! What are your test results (use reagents and test tubes) or pH, ammonia, nitrite and nitrate? What is the shape and dimensions of your tank?

I would not add another species, but assuming your tank is a 48x18 rectangle, I would add females of the existing species to get 4 females of the labs and socolofi and 7 females of the labeotropheus and the chipokae.

Or rehome the chipokae and add 1m:7f of the hongi. The chipokae is the most aggressive fish in your tank and may be the most aggressive mbuna.

·
Registered
173 Posts
Hey buddy, ill try and answer some questions but we need more information from you to help you out:

How long has the tank been running and is it cycled?