Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I was wondering about treting Mbuna cichlids with ich. I've had a lot of experience treating fish with ich, but not cichlids. Two of my fish already it pretty badly before i had a chance to buy the medicine, but they didn't have the kind i usually buy(they had a powdery kind, not the dissolving discs that I'm used to), the treatment didn't work and those two fish died. I just bought a liquid treatment which was recommended by the store helper. I have now been using it for 24 hours so I haven't had time to notice any changes yet.

I'm wondering if the problem was
A. My late reaction and treatment.
B. The brand I used was poor quality.
C. Cichlids aren't as good at dealing with ich as other fish are.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Does it work really well? Also I don't know where I could get canning salt. Would aquarium salt work?
thanks!

·
Registered
449 Posts
Timothy12 said:
Does it work really well? Also I don't know where I could get canning salt. Would aquarium salt work?
thanks!
Canning salt can be purchased at most supermarkets; aquarium salt or sea salt (also available at the grocery) would work as well. Aquarium salt is more expensive.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Timothy12 said:
thanks!
You can use non iodized kosher salt, it's cheap and available. If it doesn't go away, I've had quick results treating it with metronidazole, it's kinda spendy though.

·
Registered
210 Posts
At walmart they have huge bags of solar salt for 6 bucks. The africans love having salt, they go rub their bodies all in it and look like they are ecstatic. I just keep salt in with them all the time, though I have laughed to see how many people kick up a fuss about this. I keep it about halfway between brackish and fresh.