Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
im pretty sure sp. just means species. Because there are so many varients of the same fish. Some from the north coast and others from the southern ports of lake malawi for example.
Some Cyno Afra sp, may grow larger than others but maybe not, im not THAT good with my cichlid knowledge.
If im wrong, please correct me

·
Registered
326 Posts
The only dumb question is the question not asked 8)

·
Registered
223 Posts
Cynotilapia is the genus, and Afra is the species. Usually there is a defining trait that allows all fish in the Cynotilapia genus to be placed there. Example: All Cynotilapia have unicuspid teeth, it's a defining characteristic of the fish that make them Cynotilapia.

To be a Cynotilapia Afra, maybe they grow to 4" average and have 13 dorsal spines. (not true - but let's pretend it is for the sake of argument).

So now you're Ad Koenigs and you find a new fish at Makebelieve Island. It looks kind of like a Cynotilapia and after looking at the teeth you determine YEP! it's a Cynotilapia. However, out of the 40-50 of these fish you found, the average size is 7" and they have 15 dorsal spines. So it's not an Afra (because Afras must have 13 dorsal spines and a 4" average size), it's Cynotilapia sp. Makebelieve Island. Or maybe it's bright green and you decide it's Cynotilapia sp. Bright Green.

This species name isn't a scientific name. The scientific community has to agree that it is, in fact, a new species and not just a localized variant of another species. (example: there are 10+ different Cynotilapia Afra that are geologically defined, Lion's Cove, Cobue, etc)

Once they agree on it, they'll give it another name. So Cynotilapia sp. Bright Green becomes Cynotilapia Mombata or something.

·
Registered
1,948 Posts
Good question! gaqua has it pretty well pinned down :thumb: