Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks,

Been an active reader of this forum for a while, but now I have reason to join! YAY!

While not a newbie to the hobby, I am a rookie when it comes to Africans. I would like to try a Malawi tank. I have been researching a LOT, on this forum and others, and have most of my tank set up, and fish care type of questions answered.

What I'd like to figure out are your opinions on the differences between an all-male tank, and mixed male / female...other than the obvious breeding issues / territorial aggression... Mostly wondering about stocking.

The tank is a 110 gallon tall (48"x18"x 30" high).

I saw this stocking list for someone else's tank (maybe on this forum, I can't remember...), and it appealed to me:

Cynotilapia Afra (6)
Idotropheus Spengerae (6)
Labidichromis Caereleus (6)
Pseudotropheus Acei (6)

My other question is about water "movement" - how much do they like / need? I will be running a Fluval XP3 as the main filter, and am not sure what additional air pump I may need?

Any opinion, help, advice greatly appreciated!

Rich

·
Registered
363 Posts
110 tall tanks are best for mbuna imo, so you should be fine of you go that route. If you're looking to do all-males, most stick with peacocks or haps because they are more clearly dimorphic. If you go this route, stick with haps that stay under 8".

I used to have a 110 as my main Malawi community setup and had 2 XP3s on it. I would definitely add either another XP3 or an Aquaclear 110 to the mix. Malawi cichlids need to be overcrowded to an extent and the more filtration, the better. A "blower-style" powerhead in the tank would also be appreciated.

·
Registered
843 Posts