Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am fairly new to the world of African Cichlids and am looking for a little bit of advice?
I have 210 litre tank, setup with plenty of rocks and hiding spaces.
Eheim filtration system, heater that sits around 27 degrees... the tank is close to a window, however never in direct sunlight...

When I first setup the fish tank, I kept goldfish for 2 months to prepare the tank..
The tank has now been running for 5 months in total...

When I do water changes, every 2- 3 weeks... I take out around 40 litres of water.. Vacuuming the gravel as much as I can at the same time... the amount of rocks restricts the areas.
The water that is replaced, I treat with water ager & Bactaboost.
Once the change is done, I usually test the tank water and add KH & GH accordingly..

I have a hood on the tank and was a bit tired of having to take it off every time I needed to access the tank, so I removed the glass top about 2 months ago and now just have the hood sitting on the tank.
Because of this, the water evaporates fairly quickly, and I am finding that I have to replace 10 litres of water a week - once again .. treated with water ager and Bactaboost.

My current Water Quality..(tested with API test kits)
PH is approx 8.1
GH is 16 drops
KH is 10 drops

Feeding
Mon – Thursday Sinking Cichlid Pellets
Friday Blanched Zucchini
Sat either , frozen blood worms, frozen bio-pureSpiulina brine shrimp, or freeze dried shrimps. (this alternates every week)
Sunday De-shelled peas.

If I feed them a meat, I make sure they have greens the day before and after.

Fish (all juvenile, 5-10cm)

Nyererei (Flameback) 1 x male 2 x female
Electric yellow 1x male 1 x female
Cobalt Blue 1 x not sure. (Light electric blue, but has the egg spots... he\she is also the biggest fish I have in the tank.
Colbalt Blue 1 x not sure. (Darker blue than the one above)
Yellow tail Acei 1 x not sure.