Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a moron, as will soon be obvious, but will you guys please help me anyhow? I need to know do I fix my mistakes without making it any worse.

I'm a newbie and started with a 55 gal, cycled it, then stocked it...with incompatible fish! My LFS wouldn't take the fish back, so I bought a used 55 gal and a 29 gal. I couldn't move the larger tank myself and aggression levels were severely increasing due to the females producing (laying?) eggs. So, I set up the 29gal, cycled it and moved in 7 of my mbuna. When I found assistance, I moved in the 55gal...and this is where everything really fell apart!

Like an idiot, I tried to speed up the cycling process because due to stress half the fish in both tanks were showing early signs of ich, and bloat (for which I increased temperature, added salt and reduced feeding). Anyhow, I set up the new 55 with 50% old tank water, the secondary filters from both established tanks, and 5 cups of gravel from the old 55. I thought they were going to die if I didn't do something fast, so I only waited 10 days before I moved in the peacocks/haps and put the mbuna back in the original 55gal. I did not test the water those 10 days, which was stupid, but when I stocked it, it was reading Nitrites 0, Ammonia 0, Nitrates 5, Ph 8.2 according to my API test kit...so I thought I was safe.