Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. So, I'm currently fishless cycling a 75g peacock tank (I'm new to this). I'm about a week in, but I just got an api kh/Gh test kit. At the tap, my kh is at 35.8 ppm & Gh is at 53.7ppm. pH is 7.4. At the tank currently, kh is at 89.5 & Gh is at 107.4. I just purchased some seachem lake salt as well as Malawi buffer. Also my ph at the tank is 8.0. I have holey rock and Carib sea cichlid substrate in the tank. With all that said, what do I need to do or add to the tank before adding fish and I'm assuming I should add these supplements during water changes?

·
Super Moderator
40,520 Posts
If your tank is 8.0 and stable without adding anything, I would not add a thing.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok, thanks. Based off my parameters though, when I do a water change, should I worry about adding anything to the new water before it goes in? Tia!

·
Registered
2,011 Posts
If you're doing large water changes you could add some of the products you've purchased. BTW a much more cost effective approach is to use baking soda and epsom salt. They'll cost a fraction of what you paid for those products and do the same thing.

The use of baking soda will keep your pH stable at around 8.2. Read this article from the library for details.

·
Super Moderator
40,520 Posts
One last thing to try before additives. Test the water from your tap after having it sit on the counter for 24 hours.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
DJRansome said:
One last thing to try before additives. Test the water from your tap after having it sit on the counter for 24 hours.
So after 24hrs, my tap parameters are: pH-7.8, gh-53.7ppm, kh-71.6ppm or 4°kh. Thoughts?

·
Super Moderator
40,520 Posts
4 drops KH should work but it is marginal.

For that would try crushed coral in the filters and see if you can boost the KH without altering pH.