Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all

So iv just pre-ordered an 240l tank which I will be picking up next week. Iv been fish keeping for over 15years with tropical but recently took 6 months out ( just fancied a break) so im back in the game!

So im brand new to cichlids and could do with some friendly advice but sorry if I sound noobish. First the shop said they would offer me bacteria to get the tank cycled so that side of things is sorted.

So here are my questions:

1) Being a 240l ( 52 gallon ) what would you recommend? My partner likes the blues and yellows ( colourful ) so I was looking at malawi's?

2) I have absolute no decoration so could you suggest stones/rocks/wood which I can get cheaper than shop prices (Im from the UK) or even suggestions how to do DIY project.

3) Im planning on using two external filters (first time using external iv always used internal). One which comes with the tank ( looked good to be fair) and this one off amazon 'All Pond Solutions 2000EF Aquarium External Filter, 2000 Litre/ Hour' good idea?

4) I really like the look of sand but always find after time it fades and its hard to keep clean.... so thinking of using crushed coral (which i know raises the PH which cichlids would appricate) good idea? Easy enough to clean?

5) The tank itself comes with a nice little LED light but not planning on having plants so how long would you recommend for lighting? 4-5 a day?

6) Guy at the shop said with the bacteria and quick cycle time you wouldnt need to just add a few but adding a load would be more beneficial ( he knew what he was on about but I didnt want to question him)

Thank you all so much for reading and any help!

·
Super Moderator
40,504 Posts
What are the dimensions of the 52G? Corner tanks can limit your options.

·
Super Moderator
40,504 Posts
1-Labidochromis caeruleus and Metriaclima callainos.
2-Rocks from a landscape supplier