Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was sold 2 fish that I was told were badis badis. Wrong. After researching trying to understand these fish, someone finally sent me a link to this forum with an article and pictures for Neolamprologus multifasciatus or multies. Mine look exactly like these and now I can understand why I shouldn't have put them in a communtiy tank. I was only doing what the LFS people said.
I would have never put these guys in my community tank had I done my research. As soon as I added the neons in with them from another tank, the multies (who I thought were Badis badis) started being very aggressive to them. So I immediately put them back into the 8 gallon where I first put them. I'm just glad they lived with the two additional moves. The 8 gallon was way too crowded (I'm new at this but I'm learning) so I moved the 2 honey gourami into the 29 gallon before putting the multies back in.

After doing reading I think I'll make a change to the 8 gallon there are now back in.I read that they prefer sand as a substrate and shells to which to dwell. They are in the 8 gallon with a Hillstream Loach and a bamboo shrimp.

1. Should I move the shrimp and the loach to my 29 gallon community tank when its mature enough or leave one of them in the biocube with the mulites.
2. Should I change the gravel to sand? If so what's the best kind? I want something where these little guys with little color will show up. How do you vacuum sand?

I've checked on the temperature and ph requirements for the loach and shrimp compared to the multies and I think as far as those two conditions they could all be ok there for now.

G

·