Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
362 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was hoping to get some clarity and advice, from the experts or experienced keepers, on a pair of Julidochromis marlieri (Gombe) that I keep in a 20g long tank. I started this tank a year or so ago with 6 juvies,..which has slowly dwindled to a pair which I'm assuming formed a few months ago, when the remaining 3rd fish was suddenly gone (and was the biggest btw). The pair always hangs closely together in the back right corner of the tank where they have dug out an area under a group of flat rocks,..piling the sand up around the outside. These are the first Julis I've kept so I'm really no expert on them,..but from what I could observe looked like they were preparing to breed. About a week ago the smaller of the two (I'm assuming the male?) was nowhere to be found. They both always came out immediately when it was time to eat,..and were always both visible to this point. After a couple of days,..I caught a glimpse of him(?) barely coming up from behind the rock pile just for a second and then he disappeared back under the rocks. I didn't see him again at all for a couple of more days,..then last night barely saw him again just for a second. Color etc. seemed to look fine but it was hard to tell. I've not seen the fish eat at all,..or at least he doesn't come out to eat. The bigger of the two,.(I'm assuming the female?) acts perfectly normal and looks as healthy as ever and comes up immediately to eat at feeding time.

Is this normal breeding behavior? I've tried to read up on them as much as possible and from I can tell..this may be normal. I am starting to worry about the one not eating (or at least I can't see it). Is that normal?
Does this sound like a formed pair? Any advice or things to look out for. Any info is appreciated,..thanks!

·
Registered
783 Posts