Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I have a 55 right now with a 6-7" Ebjd I believe is a male,5"BGJD male,and a jd female 4". The BGJD and jd have paired off and established a nest and have been guarding for days. I looks like the females tubes have dropped . My question is how long before I see eggs? I have not been successful with breeding jds this is my first attempt. I have bred smaller cichlids in the past but never jds. My female will come to the center of the tank (all 4" of her and wait) then my Ebjd will come out and they start there dance lip locking and what not. Then my BGJD male comes out and joins the scrap. Is this normal behavior? I seems like the pair is fighting the big ebjd. I have dithers in the tank that have been going one by one each day due to the aggression . I'm not to concerned about the Ebjd because he can hold his own against the two. Am I on the right track here or should I change this up?

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Well I guess I should of waited to post. I left earlier in the day and they spawned . :D

·
Registered
406 Posts
Congrats, the mother of that BGJD used to spawn every 3 weeks and it seems like most of the fish I kept spawn every 3-4 weeks if I don't leave the fry with them.

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The BGJD is the male you sent in the last batch. I don't think they've finished yet either. There is somewhere between 100 to 200 eggs.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Hey gratz man I am having the bgjd delivered by jason on thursday so set some time aside for that and also gratz on having non gay fish like myself. Let me know if you need my camera.

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Yeah almost Blair project like. :lol:

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·