Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Read Only
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Was working on my canopy tonight and went to test the sizing on the aquarium and I noticed all this brown (there's a little green mixed in too, but you can't see it in the pictures) stuff on the limestone in my the aquarium.

Stats:
75 Gallon
Fluval FX5 filter
300 watt Fluval heater
Temp = 78.5 F
Cycled for about a month
Ammonia < .25ppm
Nitrites < .25ppm
Nitrates < 20ppm
PH ~8.0

I'm guessing it's algae, but I don't know. It's pretty much growing on the right side of all the rocks. Well when I put the aquarium where it is, I didn't think about the little (basement size) window up near the ceiling, about 5 ft above the aquarium to the right of the aquarium. I'm going to go get a blind for that window tomorrow. But just want confirm this is algae and not something that is going to harm the fish (sorry, I'm new to the aquarium world).

I also have LED lights that I've been running on a timer. The white lights (day lights) come on at 7:30am and turn off at 9:30pm. The blue lights (moon lights) come on at 9:30pm and turn off at 7:30am. I was reading that 9 - 10 hours of the day lights is sufficient, when they're off can I leave the blue lights on (timer I have turns the blue lights on whenever the daylights are off, I would have to buy a separate timer to turn the lights off completely). Will the blue lights stimulate the algae growth?

·
Read Only
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
How do I get rid of it? I know I need to cut the light from the window? What's a good algae eater that I can put in with the cichilds (Yellow Labs, Demasani, Yellow Tailed Acei, Socolofi)? I have a Syndontis Multiplicantus (spelling??), I know he's not an algae eater more of a waster picker upper.

·
Registered
114 Posts
Nerite snails work great & they won't reproduce.

·
Registered
114 Posts