Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Read Only
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK,

Picked up a home gym from from a guy on Craigslist (free), when I got there he points to a 75 gallon aquarium and says do you want that too. I say sure....

So I'm now in the planning stages of setting this thing up (building the stand now). I'm planning on setting up a Cichlid tank, but I've never done this before. I keep seeing you need filter with a flow rate of 5 x the size of the aquarium, so 375 gph. The Fluval 405 comes close at 330 GPH, and then I saw this FX5 at 925 gph. So I know that's overdoing it a bit, but I've also been told to get a bigger filter than what you need. I mean is this thing going to create whirlpool affect sucking all my little fishies to the bottom of the tank (just kidding)? Is the flow rate adjustable to a point, I can't really find any info on whether you can adjust the flow rate on these things? Is it just too big for my needs?

Anyway, your help is appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
2,416 Posts
Nope not too big.

·
Registered
1,512 Posts
Heh.

If you're BUYING it, you don't need the FX5 on it.

I use a 305 on a 75 (only filled to 70 gallons) with a LARGE bioload and it does just fine.
I've been tempted to put my 404 on it, but if it ain't broke...

I use an FX5 on a 125 and it's doing great.

& no, there's no flow rate adjustment on any of the Fluval 04/05 or FX series.

·
Registered
1,232 Posts
Glaneon
no, there's no flow rate adjustment on any of the Fluval 04/05

theres a flow rate adjustment oh my fluval 305 canister filter

·
Registered
1,512 Posts
Wait, you know what, you're right... that lever does act as a flow rate adjustment.

I just always used it as the water-stop to disconnect (which is what it's used for too).

·
Read Only
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·