Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am new to canister filters so forgive me if I come across dumb, I recently purchased an eheim canister filter off craigslist. Once I got it set up i found it to not have a very strong flow. i filled it with pot scrubbies so there should not be a restriction. It is an older model number is a typ 381.. My question is can I put an external pump after the canister to boost the water flow through the canister? Or is it designed to have this flow rate to help with biological growth or something. Like I said before I am new to this whole thing so sorry if this is already discussed on another post and I did not see it.
O and the tank is a 55gallon, 12 african cichlids (one inch fry) and one large pleco. also has a hob whisper ex70.
Thanks
Josh

·
Registered
1,232 Posts
putting an external pump is not recommended or needed,I would check the impellor,then I would clean out the hoses,maybe theres debris in the gate valve(shut offs)

·
Registered
4,998 Posts
A point to check which is easy to miss is the small tube where water comes out of the canister. It is easy for the small barrel shaped media to get in there and not be seen. I tie a rag on a thin wire and drag it back and forth through the tubing to clean them.

·
Super Moderator
1,838 Posts
My answers are typed in red next to your questions.

KLUG.JOSH said:
i filled it with pot scrubbies so there should not be a restriction.
Pot scrubbies are not very efficient in a canister filter.

It is an older model number is a typ 381.
There should be an actual model number on the filter unless it is extremely old.

My question is can I put an external pump after the canister to boost the water flow through the canister?
You would have to disable the existing pump by removing the impeller and not plugging in the power cord.

Josh

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·