Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am starting up a new 125gal frontosa tank. I plan on a colony of 5 to start. What type of filter should I get? I hear over the top filters are not a good option. So Should I only use a canister filter? If so what size? How many? I want to do this right. I had one frontosa before and I used a over the top and had success keeping the fish alive. I keep reading that the FX6 is a good filter to use. Also what would you recommend for food? Flake? Pellet? Live? I am a beginner in need of solid advice. Thanks for any help given!

·
2,088 Posts
In a 125, my preference is for a sump, but nothing wrong with canisters if you are not familiar with sumps or don't want to go that route. I've heard good things about the FX series, but have no first hand experience. I've run my tanks on the old ProII Eheim filters, and if I was buying new, I'd take a look at the Eheim classics.

For food, I always fed my Frontosa NLS cichlid pellets, augmented with frozen mysis shrimp as they get older and closer to breeding size.

·
Registered
1,395 Posts
My Frontosa colony in my 125g is filtered by a single fx5. Works pretty well without pushing them around too much and filters well to keep the parameters in check where I can keep it to WC's every 10 days. Thats with 10 frontosa from 5"-13" as well as numerous leleupi and calvus/comps.

I fee NLS pellets like nodima does but I also feed flakes, algae wafers, Omega one shrimp pellets, and then once per week I feed frozen thawed krill. Only thing to be careful with is feeding too much floating pellets, try to feed mostly sinking stuff. Frontosa can get something called "float" which is caused by gulping too much air trying to take floating pellets so I only feed floating stuff rarely to mine.

·
Registered
1,642 Posts