Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
842 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

thinking of a design for a room divider/aquarium that is more james bond ..less laura ashley...

want to get that catalever look without it acctually falling over!!

the tank i think will be 150 gallons ... for the african fishes of this forum ..in a philippine location..ie 30 celcius all year round

so i was hoping for just for filtration in the canopy ect

it will probably need steel work rather than wood in the sub structure on a solid marble ground floor.

if anyone has a link to something similar i would be gratefull..

...all comments if this is a good or bad idea would be welcomed as im not really a fish expert but am willing to learn....

·
Registered
842 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
the support is way too thin...will make wider and longer but still leave an overhang

·
Registered
97 Posts
zazz said:
the support is way too thin...will make wider and longer but still leave an overhang
Depending on materials used it could be just as is. Structural engineers have actually been able to replicate some pretty wild visions that architects have dreamed up.

If You have the "stand" welded together onsite and bolted to the floor and wall you're safe. However, I'd go a bit overkill on the material thickness. That frame would be easy to cover up with your choice of wood/whatever.

Wet/dry would be my choice of filtration for the canopy. Would be risk free too in case of power outage etc.

Hope you get that thing together!! :thumb:

·
Premium Member
5,606 Posts
With a steel frame, you can truly cantalever the tank. If they can do this,

http://www.grandcanyonskywalk.com/