Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First and foremost, just wanted to let everyone know that I am new to CF but have used it many times; VERY informative site here.

I just upgraded to a 75g tank and have been slowly stocking it with african cichlids from local breeders. I picked up a few fish that I cannot Identify, pics are below. I wish the pics were better, I just can't seem to get a good shot!

PIC 1(Orange Spotted Cichlid on the top right AND Bright Orange/Red Cichlid in the bottom right)

PIC 2 (Light Blue w/ an orange/reddish top)

PIC 3 (Same as above)

PIC 4 (Darker body with orange fins)

PIC 5 (Same as above)

PIC 6 (Possibly Demasoni?)

PIC 7 (Possibly Demasoni?)

Thanks for your help!

PS Do you think 35 africans is too much for a 75 gallon?

·
Registered
2,304 Posts
1. The orange spotted is an OB red zebra. The other is a peacock. Not sure what type, since I don't keep them.
2&3. Greshakei? Maybe? Is its body actually that curved? Looks deformed in those shots.
4&5. Copadichromis borleyi juvie or female.
6&7. Not demasoni. Hard to tell since it looks stressed with the flat black coloring. I'd guess pseudotropheus/metriaclima hybrid?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yea they are all a little stressed, a lot has been going on lately. The light blue one is definitely deformed though, is that a bad thing? I also adopted a paralized maingano, he can only use the front part of his body :eek:

As far as overstocking goes, I should be able to lower my numbers once my friend gets his tank set up at his new place. He will probably take 10-12 labs/maingano....

Thanks for the help so far.

·
Registered
9,069 Posts
Maingano look nice. :)

Pic 1 ... that "Peacock" is a hybrid, they call them different made up names, take your pic

Pic 2 and 3... seems like an old rather deformed male... I guess Pseudotropheus "Perspicax Orange Cap", which is not that common