Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to cichlids but have many years of saltwater under my belt so having to ID hybrids and juvenile fish is driving me up a wall. Anyway I am trying to get some help with a few of my purchases. Most were not these colors at the local fish store ( very blah colors but you could see the potential) so I can only hope they keep the colors coming. I think I have an idea on a few but just checking to have other opinions.

Thanks for the help.

Attachments

·
Registered
9,062 Posts
1. Yellow Labidochromis

The others are Aulonocara "stuartgranti" group, unnatural "Red Peacocks", quality varies very widely, and fish can be quite different, maybe the yellowish one is more like "Stuartgranti Maleri". Unfortunately these fish are very hard to know what they are exactly, other than vague mass market bred Aulonocara. They are also sometimes hormoned for temporary exaggerated color, which makes them look weird, then the color wears off and they look dark brown.
Fourth fish looks nice, fifth looks odd but might be interestingly colorful.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
1. Yellow Labidochromis

It has the color and dorsal fin but has the vertical strips of a peacock. Hybrid of a bumblebee and lab maybe as it doesn't have the shape of my other labs.

·
Registered
9,062 Posts
Deyoe1118 said:
1. Yellow Labidochromis

It has the color and dorsal fin but has the vertical strips of a peacock. Hybrid of a bumblebee and lab maybe as it doesn't have the shape of my other labs.