Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! Is there some who experiment with all ick symptoms but without white spots?

I have 9 yrs experiences with malawi cichlids and a lot much more with freshwater tanks.
I Bought a used 80G tank 9yrs ago with fish included. That was a mix of malawi and other.. As a frequent thing wt the stress of the transportation I got illness in the tank. All symptoms of ick but without white spots. I got rid of of it with pain...many treatment wt different medications.
Since then all other fish not malawi died naturally and remain only with mbunas. I then bring all the right water parameters for these species (Ph 8.0, GH300, KH12-14).
then let say for 8 years with no problem at all doing a water change per wk.
***I don't want to write everything here...take in mind I did a lot a reading and have a lot of knowledge. All my water parameters are stable and correct for malawi cichlids... as a proof 8 yrs wt no problem***

as I had some mbunas with only males after 9 yrs there was not much varieties in the tank remaining (was with 4th generation of greshakei & hybrids) Then some month ago I bring some new mbunas species and some peacock from a certified fish breeder (I know many won't mix them but we also see many with that mix). As I also read it's frequent wt addition of new fish...I got illness again. Exactly the same thing as 9 yrs earlier! All symptoms of ick but without white spots:
-Resting on the bottom/or abnormally hiding
-Flashing/rubbing and scratching against objects
-loss of appetite
-Rapid breathing at the end and rapid death (few days) after that final symptom.