Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I set this up last night and took these pics this morning. I rinsed 10lbs of the sand for about 10 mins each out of the 20lbs I got. Its all settled and looks good I think. Suggestions, comments, etc are welcome!! Ill be going to Atlantis on saturday to pick up L. Brevis, L. Multi, L. ocellatus, or L. meleagrise. Out of those 4 which should I go with?

·
Registered
6,748 Posts
L. Multi for me because of their fun to watch colony antics.
Breed up to a massive group (or groups) with lots of interesting colony stuff but few deaths.

I would move your shells into closer patches (maybe add a few for the most fun colony vs colony antics wise, sneaker male wise. new colonies vs old.) etc. :thumb:

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Im new to all of this... so how many fish can I add? I would like 3 of those 4 types. can I do that? Like a pair of each? I figured they would move the shells where they want them, am I wrong?

·
Registered
6,748 Posts
One shelly would be my choice. You can prob squeeze in two (maybe 3 if you are prepared to work at arranging territories each few days but you kind of get constant conflict). It can work well do not get me wrong but you kind of need a blocking screen (or some sort of territory separator) to separate them so they do not constantly fight over the available shells.

One type is the simplest way to success.

·
Registered
22 Posts
I also have a 20g long with 7 L. Multi and they are doing great :D The only issue I have is that my two males fight to be top dog in the tank. So I made two shell beds on each side of the tank with rocks and drift wood in between and now they have formed two groups :dancing: Now I wish that I can get both groups to breed.
You should go with multies they are fun to watch. you should also add more shells I have about 3 per fish.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·