Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My Mbuna tank is a few months old and has been battling diatoms for almost the whole time. It's my first time with cichlids and I don't remember ever having those in my planted tanks.

I've tried decreasing the lights and using carbon and it worked, but as soon as I turn on the lights again they reappear. And I don't like using carbon for more than a little while. I've also read it's not good for cichlids.

I'm trying to find consistent solutions on the web but it seems every source has a different way of doing it. Some say decrease the lights and others, increase it.

My substrate is Aragonite and the tank is full of PH buffering rocks, if that males a difference.

Help !

·
Super Moderator
40,517 Posts
What seems to always work is wait it out. It usually disappears on it's own after the first year.

·
Registered
15 Posts
I dealt with diatoms for a while for a new tank a few months ago. First I tried just cleaning the glass, that didn't work. Then I did gobs of research. Ended up taking out and cleaning literally everything, including the substrate and insides of the filter boses. I also added 2 wave makers to get water movement. That seemed to basically solve the problem as I've not seen any more for a few months now. From my understanding, diatoms like standing water and struggle to plant themselves (and therfore grow) in moving water.

·
Super Moderator
40,517 Posts
Be careful when you clean everything. The beneficial bacteria/organisms live on surfaces as well and you can deplete your biofilter enough to create a mini cycle.

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
AndrewR said: