Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys

I have a 55gal (4ft) tank, and I was just wondering how many more cichlids I could keep in there.

So far, I have.

1x Electric Blue
1x Electric Yellow
1x Johanni
1x Strawberry peacock

What I was thinking of adding.

1x Electric Yellow
1x Red Jewel
1x Peacock

Would that be to much?

Thanks A lot.

·
Super Moderator
40,520 Posts
Are they all male? You might want to go with either peacocks or mbuna. Is the electric blue a hap? Eight to ten fish should work with all-male. You would not want two Labidochromis caeruleus though. One male fish of each species and no look-alikes is usually the plan.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Not sure about there gender, Don't Peacocks and mbuna mix well?
As you can probably tell by now, I'm new to this.
thanks for your time.

Edit: Electric blue is a hap.

·
Super Moderator
40,520 Posts
Peacocks and haps on average are likely to be less aggressive than mbuna. This is part of why peacocks/haps are often chosen for an all-male tank over mbuna. In a 55G tank (which is small for all-male but it has been done) you might want to avoid fish that mature at more than 6" like the fryeri.

Read the all-male article in the Library for additional information. When you choose to have one of each species, usually males are chosen for their color.

If females are present each male will want to choose and defend a territory of one square foot or greater. So with females, you would want to limit to three males.

Without females to inspire competition territories are less important.

·
Registered
1,783 Posts
Welcome to the hobby!