Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 55G African setup going right now. Had it up and running for about 7-8 months, but thinking I might want to go another route.

I know I can use all the equipment and everything, but would I be able to just throw some Angels in the existing tank?
Or would I have to do a little cleaning and such?

I also assume that most Angel-Tanks don't have the massive rock piles/caves like I currently have. So I'd have to take out all the rocks, or most. Right?

How many Angels could you do in a 55G, maybe 4-5?
But also along with some other smaller fish?

Hmmm... :-?

·
Registered
9 Posts
I am no Pro by any means. But a few questions.

I assume you have Lace rock as the "Rocks" in your tank?

What substrate do you have just sand, Rocks OR crushed coral?

If u have coral u will have to switch to sand or something close.

As for the rocks u can leave them in there. Just line them up at the back of the tank and add a few large leafed plants.

You could do 1 Pair of angels and another pair of fish or 2 pairs of angels.

·
Registered
481 Posts
Depending on the substrate, maybe switch that, I would pull rocks and replace with driftwood and /or plants. Angels will do better with slightly softer and more neutral ph water conditions, so, things like lime stone and crushed coral won't help.

A small group of juvies would be great, when they start pairing off to spawn, you can decide at that point if you have room for more than a pair. As far as tankmates, nothing too small, and, nothing too nippy. A lot of the taller bodied tetras are great, you may get away with Rummy nose tetras, but, they are slim boddied, so, no guarantees on an outcome there.

Good luck and keep us posted :popcorn:

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The Rocks I have are more of a circular type...

I have pool filter sand for substrate. I forgot that Angels like the PH lower, mine is currently like 8.4