Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
478 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone tried this? I was hoping that the really purple bodied strain with red dorsal fins...sometimes sold as 'super red top' or 'red top kimpuna' (I say sometimes because often fish sold as red tops are actually yellow tops with blue body) would co exist with the Haras and Demasoni....otherwise maybe I should switch stocking list to be Demasoni, labs, hara, and Acei 'ngara'...

·
Registered
625 Posts
Conspecifically they seem fine.

The SRT's get a bit bigger and are highly territorial though, you'd need a large tank.

Have you considered Rusties? Similar coloration, only gets 4", much less aggressive. Not sure how they would fair against Demasoni though...

If you're still up in the air, what about rusty, saulosi, and hara? With saulosi, the females are yellow so you wouldn't need labs, which could give you more room for the larger, but more peaceful acei.

I'm still learning about stocking myself so if any of the more experienced members want to set me straight please do so.

·
Registered
625 Posts
Also, to avoid any confusion with any newer members who might be researching this on their own like I did, I am talking about: Iodotropheus sprengerae (Rusty), Pseudotropheus saulosi, and Cynotilapia sp. "hara."

When I was first learning it was always hard for me to follow what fish is what so I just thought it could be helpful to others reading this thread.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Since i have never kept cyno hara only jalo reef , i might be wrong, but I have kept in the past demis and you could have a potential brawl in the making. Both sort of look similiar about the same size and pattern.

·
Registered
478 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·