Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time contributing to the discussion board, but have read through many a thread with much interest.

I daydream much about monster fish tanks full of African Cichlids. I've built a few fish tanks, a couple all glass (a 90g & a 50g), a plywood & acrylic (about 530g), and the the latest, a steel 357g with a glass front. Inside dimensions are 108.25"x28"x27.25"

I scored on the sheet of 1/2" glass for free from a construction buddy, I weld, & have built a couple of steel water tanks out of 12 G galvanized sheet metal, and got the idea to build a steel fish tank. Not galvanized, but epoxy coated steel. I actually built the tank about 15 years ago, kept it in a greenhouse and mostly housed native fishes in it. The tank is not in use at the moment, but I am wanting to get it going again, which brings us to what this topic is actually about.

The tank is built out of 12g steel, back, sides, & bottom, with an 1/8" x 2" flat frame around the front and top. I had 3 equally spaced (removable) cross braces on the top. Overflows built in similar to bulkhead fittings but welded in. Interior was coated with 3 coats of epoxy paint, exterior metal primed & painted, then glass sealed in with silicone.

Tank worked great, simple to build, strong, reasonably light weight, not too much expense. Trouble is, soon epoxy paint started peeling off the interior. I noticed blisters about 1/2" to 3/4" forming in the paint. Tore tank down, spent brutal hours removing paint and re-doing with another product, and it happened again. Tank has actually been sitting for a couple years and most of the paint has literally fell off the inside. Now it is rusted and will have to be wire wheeled down to bare clean metal again.