Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am still rather new to ciclids. Can anyone tell me the best fresh veggies to feed my Malawi's?

·
Registered
81 Posts
they love all nice dark greens,, start with romain lettuce or maybe zuchinni or brocolli
feed them food twice a day and leave one day / week no food at all to clense their system
keeps them healthier that way

also stay away from too much high protien foods may cause bloat in the malawis they are more veggitarian type of fish

:fish:

·
Registered
31,206 Posts
YELLOWRAVEN said:
also stay away from too much high protien foods may cause bloat in the malawis they are more veggitarian type of fish

This is an incorrect generalization. The range of all diet in Malawian cichlids, is quite varied.

·
Registered
81 Posts
Fogelhund said:
YELLOWRAVEN said:

This is an incorrect generalization. The range of all diet in Malawian cichlids, is quite varied.
Iv always been told by the LFS and most people of this forum that Malawis are genarlly veggitarian and if fed meat only rarely as a treat of sorts and that too much can harm them,, and thats why I guess that most Malawi quality foods provided by the LFS are much lower in crude protiens than other fish food :fish:

·
Registered
31,206 Posts
YELLOWRAVEN said:
Fogelhund said:
YELLOWRAVEN said:

Iv always been told by the LFS and most people of this forum that Malawis are genarlly veggitarian and if fed meat only rarely as a treat of sorts and that too much can harm them,, and thats why I guess that most Malawi quality foods provided by the LFS are much lower in crude protiens than other fish food :fish:
It is a false generalization. I don't think you will find that most people of this forum have suggested that Malawians are generally vegetarian. Take a look through the profiles in Malawian fish, and see what their diets are.