Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, I'm new, I have a couple questions. I have my first cichlid, a severum. We were told at the LFS that it is a rotkeil severum, but there isn't any red on the head, so I'm wondering if that comes with time, or if possibly it is really a green severum? Right now it is housed in a 55 gallon aquarium, we are planning, by the end of the summer, to get a 125. Also in the 55, we have 5 Australian Rainbowfish, and 2 Emerald Rainbowfish. Right now, my severum is approx 2.5-3" and all the rainbowfish range from 1.5-3.5". I have been keeping aquariums as a hobby for about 15 years, but mostly have always done community fish. I absolutely love our new severum, and we are thinking about getting one more rotkeil, and possibly 2 golds. Since they will probably be the same size as the one we have now, and we plan on upgrading to a 125 in a few months, do you think this will be ok? Also, I think mine may be a female, but I've never tried to sex severums before, so if anyone thinks otherwise, will you let me know. I'll probably more or less be a lurker here, just learning what I can, and maybe asking questions here or there, and helping where I'm able to.

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
Nice fish . You should be ok for a few months with another in there just make sure you get that 125. Welcome to the forum and good luck. See you around :fish:

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·