Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty new with aquarium plants and have had bad luck with everything except for an Anubias and a few Hygrophila. The only plant that has actually grown is the Anubias, while the Hygrophila just survives. I would really like to add more plants, and would like to get some info on what I may need to do.

I have a 55 gallon Tanganyikan tank and the water parameters are 0/0/5, pH is 8.8ish, GH is 11 and KH is 17. I have a 48" Beamswork DA FSPEC dimmed ~50% that is on for 12hrs and dose with Excel. I asked my LFS for an all-in-one and they said Excel would do the trick (I was happy until I Googled it after buying it). A couple of months ago, I tried some Flourish tabs with no luck, but have since ordered some Nilocg Thrive that is on the way.

Why can't I get these "easy" plants to grow? Will the Thrive solve all my problems, or should I look into something else? Do I have my plants incorrectly placed? This is my third attempt at getting various plants (mostly Vals) to take hold. Thanks for any suggestions/advice!

Here are pictures of the tank and sad plants that were added about 3-4 weeks ago, all of which were looking great when I first got them:

The tank

Some type of Crypt melting away

Another type of Crypt not looking so great

Some jungle Val withering away

·
Super Moderator
40,520 Posts
What are your test results for nitrate and phosphate? Plants need both to grow and in a certain ratio. My best luck with plants involved weekly testing and dosing. CO2 does help as well, even for plants that don't need it.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·