Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, am new to this Forum.
I am looking for help in resolving a long standing problem with my Malawi Cichlid setup. I have been keeping Malawi Cichlids for approximately 4 years. Over the last 4 months or so I seem to have a parasite or contaminate that is stressing the fish. The symptoms of the problem are all the fish at are flicking/scratching against rocks or the gravel at the point around there gills. There is no obvious sign of a disease, no spots/blemishes on any of the fish, and I have not had any fish deaths. All my water parameters are OK according to the test charts I am using. At different times I have done numerous amounts of water changes before/after using different medications, but none of them have seemed to cure the problem. In every way over than the flicking/scratching the fish seem OK. They are feeding normally and there are currently 4 female Red Zebra’s and Yellow Labs holding, I regularly get a batch of fry from these fish. I have looked up on the internet to find what I believe the problem is and the symptoms seem to point towards gill flukes or a similar parasite. I have tried using the Water Life Sterazine and JBL Punktol combined with Ektol products but they do not seem to help cure the problem.
I have even removed my ocean rock from the tank and replaced with new rock in case it was the rock that was leaching a toxin into the water, but this did not make any difference.
Other that this being a very suborn parasite to remove, the only other thing I can think of that could be causing the problem is my aquarium background. I bought this from a aquarium background supplier who said the foam material used does not change water parameters, and the background is being sold be an aquatic store. It has been in my aquarium for around 2.5 years.
Has anyone experienced this kind of problem before?