Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone! My name is Andrew.
I recently discovered this site and it seems to be an incredible resource for information and answers on all sorts of fish related topics!
As for me, I'm very new to Fish. I have a basic knowledge that I'm looking to expand. I'll be getting my first tank shortly. Its a 10gal. Its coming with 5 Gourami's. Two blue, two gold and an opaline. They are currently around 3". The gentlemen I'm getting them from said they are quite aggressive. (towards other fish in his tank) In about a few weeks I am planning on expanding to a 50gal tank. My first question is, what other fish would be acceptable in the tank? As of right now, I'm looking at a Hifin Spotted Pleco and possibly a Firemouth. (or two?) From what I've gathered they are good beginner Cichlids. Would these fish work well with the Gourami's? What other fish (specifically Cichlids) would work well?

Looking forward to chatting and learning from everyone!
-Andrew

·
Registered
1,111 Posts
Hey Andrew welcome to the forum. Your right this is great place to come with all your questions on how to properly set stuff up and get the stocking right the first time. I am not the greatest with stocking so I will let someone more experienced in that help you out, but for a 10g that sounds like an awful lot of fish. :-?

An idea for your 10g tho would be to get a small colony of Shell dwellers for it. I just got my 1st group and they are really neat to watch and have some attitude for being so small.

Once again welcome and will being seeing you around. :thumb:

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
When you say 50 gallons what are the demension of the tank? The footprint of the tank is important. We could better answer your question if you supply this info.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The tank will be 48" Long, 12 3/4" Wide and 20" Deep.