Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know that most of you veterans have seen plenty of these post..but here is another one. I am a newbie and I love the activity, the color, the social characteristics of Africian Chiclids. I am doing as much research as I can....because these fish cant just be thrown in with any other fish. I am the proud owner of a pittbull and prior to purchasing one...I read 4 books on them to educate myself to the breed and how to maintain a happy, healthy dog who is social with other dogs people and kids. I know there is plenty of negative opinions so I am not trying to bring up pitties in a fish forum. What I am trying to do is use the same mentality in making sure I have happy and healthy fish, who interact, and not kill or harass a other fish in the tank. So...in my research online..which is abundent with alot of opinions..I see that certain factors play a part in the happiness of your tank. I get the whole male to female ratio and am leaning more towards an all male tank(different species none looking the same in color and size) but realize that is difficult with small juvies. I would prefer Mbuna as they seem to be what I am more in favor of but a close second is an all male hap peacock tank, but I am concerned as I only have a 60 gallon. I have 90 gallon filter and the tank is cycling currently fishless.

My questions are all male tank w Mbuna since it is a 60 gallon, thinking yellow lab, mbama, red top, bumblebee, red zebra, kenyi, dasani, cobalt blues, Johanni. I like alot of these and I know I cant house them all....but i love the coloration and the personality of each.