Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am searching for a substrate for my new tank that is on its way. It is a 450 gallon, 8 feet wide by two feet deep and 42 inches tall. I would like to have a darker substrate since the decor is the lighter holey rock and black background.

My question is, does anyone know where I can order gravel or sand in bulk? The largest I can find is 20 pounds, and by my calculations, i am going to need a lot of 20-pound bags.

Also, what is better for Mbuna cichlids? Sand or gravel? Is there a difference?

Lastly, this is my first time keeping cichlids so any advice would be much appreciated. :D

-Thank you

·
Registered
1,699 Posts
1) You can try to order Black "Sandblasting" sand from most hardware stores.
2) Sand is best, Mbunas like to dig, and gravel traps too much junk.
3) Are you sure you want "Black Sand"? I have 2 tanks, one had black sand, one had white. Got tired of the dark look and replaced with white sand. Now both tank have white sand= More better (IMO).

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm hoping the black sand against the white holey rock will be a nice contrast. Nothing is set in stone though.

Is that sand safe for the fish?

·
Registered
165 Posts
Most use sand. Few choose black.

I wanted live plants, so I needed a substrate that could hold them in place. I went with Seachem's Flourite Black, which is a smallish clay type of gravel.

The thing you hear most is cichlids need sand because they cannot move gravel. Well, when I had males and females, mine had no problems digging massive craters or piling it halfway up the glass. It was really bizarre!

The females are all gone so they don't do that anymore. They do forage for food through it quite easily though, so no issues there. That might be species specific though, I am not sure.