Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Have some questions and just want to confirm that I have all the steps to setup a successful Tropheus tank, I know that things vary from tank to tank and fish to fish, but just want to make sure I have the bases covered.

So I am dead set on getting a Tropheus tank setup, I'm not a newbie to fish keeping but I have never kept them before. In the past I have had mbuna, vics, shellies and various CA/SA fish. I am currently housing a CA/SA community in my 150g and it just feels wrong to only have 1 tank in the house.

I am looking at Craigslist for the next 2 weeks to see if I can't find a good deal on a used tank. The minimum tank size I'll be getting is a 75g, but if I can find a good deal on a 90g/120g/125g I'll be snagging that. I know bigger is always better but I have a budget in mind as well.

For the sake of conversation I'm going to be setting up a 75g tank. Substrate will be black sand, rocks I'm either going to go with slate or black lava rock. More then likely slate as I have never had that kind of rock in my tanks before.

The pH out of the tap is 7.8 and the pH when in a tank is 8.0 - so it will only fluctuate slightly during water changes, is this an issue?

As for filtration, this will largely depend on if the tank is drilled or not. I"ll be either using an XP3 + AC110 or a 20g sump + AC110 - is one setup vastly superior to the other in terms of filtration? I know for sumps they're only as good as their pump, so would be getting a Mag Drive pump for it. Right now on my 150g I have two XP3s and an AC110 - I like to get the same filters on my tanks so if needed I can swap them around.

Would a UV Sterilizer be beneficial? I have zero problems with algae, I have just heard that people who have used them with EBJD had better success with the fish. And since Tropheus seem to be a more fragile fish as well, I figure it could be a well worth it investment.