Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
729 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am planning a new Tang tank. I was all set to do Calvus, L. Oscies, and P. nigripinnis. But, then I saw some Eretmodus sp. 'Cyanostictus North' Kigoma and read up on Gobies and their mating habits...

I was wondering if I could do all 4 species and if so, how big a tank would I need? Also any more information on Gobies would be helpful as I have no personal experience with them.

·
Registered
4,581 Posts
Gobies would be fine with the other fish as long as you watch their dietary requirements. I use NLS for all my tanks including with all the species you listed and everyone is doing well.

I would suggest a minimum 36" long tank for the paracyps, and from there you're pretty much set with the rest. I think a 40 gallon tank would nicely fit the shellies, the calvus and the less territorial gobies.

While gobies make good neighbors, they're pretty tough on each other. Females need to be able to escape the male's attention. I find a maze of rocks works quite well. The calvus would like that set up as well, and would appreciate additional caves to breed in.

·
Registered
847 Posts
Since this is here, would the gobies go well with mbuna? I have a 140G I'll be setting up (72x18x24) which will have about 250 lbs of Holey (Lace) Rock. I plan on stocking it with Demasoni, Yellow Labs, Red Zebras, Acei (Msuli) and some P. Socolofi or M. cyaneorhabdos (sorry about all the Malawians). I was thinking about trying to get a couple of Eretmodus cyanostictus (Kasanga). I just think they're awesome looking fish and from my reading, I think they could do well in my planned tank.

·
Registered
2,123 Posts