Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been keeping fish as an adult for 15 years now. I periodically try German Blue Rams with varied results. Most of the time they die. Once in a while I get a pair to live to spawn. Here is my question. What happens to these fish - they are born, raised, get shipped, live in the pet store tank, go to my tank and die. They usually die with the rapid breathing thing. They manage to live long enough to make it to the pet store. I assume it is something in the shipping through going into my tank. Is it poor quality stock - if so how did they manage to live long enough to get shipped to the pet store?

·
Registered
7,422 Posts
The "rapid breathing thing" can often be some illness, or it can be osmotic shock. I wouldn't doubt that transhipped fish can make it to your tank just in time to die... but there may also be something that you are underestimating when you plop them into your tank water.

What is the pH, GH and KH of the stores you shop at compared to your tank and tap water?

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I bought German Blue Rams and Bolivian Butterfly cichlids from the same pet store on the same day. Acclimated them in the same way into two different tanks that are the same age and setup (small gravel and driftwood) with no other fish in the tanks. Different results - the Bolivians are still alive and kicking.

I suspect it is the double acclimation - the pet store and then a couple of days(??) later into my tank compunded with the way the fish are bred may lead to osmotic shock. But the Bolivians came in on the same shipment and had the same double acclimation over the same number of days.