Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hola

We lost power two days ago twice for 1 second each time. I believe this caused a power surge and my Fluval 405 seems to be dead (lights and heater were plugged into a surge protector, but filter was not. I won't make that mistake again). The filter is 11-12 years old and ran great, but it was a bit noisy for the past 2 or 3 years. I haven't opened the 405 yet to diagnose what went wrong, but I picked up a new 406 this morning figuring if the 405 is a goner, I'll have the 406 on hand ready to go. If I can resuscitate the 405, I'll return the 406. I've been using Fluval 400 series filters for 20 years and the setup seems straightforward, but I watched the quick set up video and I have a few general filtration questions. FYI, the tank is a 55 with 2 very juvenile venustus. They will be relocated in a few months.

1. How hard is it to diagnose and repair whatever went wrong with the 405? I know there's not much going on with the motor mechanically, but if it's not a broken impeller shaft or something I can see clearly, I have no idea what I'm doing. I'm strongly against electrocution, especially on a weekend.

2. Fluval dude in the video has intake and outtake on opposite ends of the tank. I'm assuming this is correct as he is the Fluval dude and I am not. I've always had them next to each other with no problem. Is placing the intake/outtake ala Fluval dude minimally beneficial or highly beneficial?

3. The 406 comes with media. I plan to swap out most/all the media from the 405 to the 406. Si or no? That said, I usually use floss in the bottom basket but the 406 comes with spongy things. What works better?

4. I've never liked the ribbed hoses and was thinking I would replace them with clear airline tubing from Home Depot, but I'm a little worried about proper fit and bendability at the top. Anyone have experience doing this?

Gracias in advance.

·
Super Moderator