Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can you please tell me how to distinguish a male to a female Red zebra? I wanted to breed them. thanks!!!

My auratus had released it's fry and i have 6 baby auratus! yipee! :)

·
Registered
18,306 Posts
You will have to vent them to determine sex, which means examine their genitalia. They will need to be quite mature in order to do this accurately. (I've never been good at it!)

You do realize that you will need a male and 3-4 females, right?

Kim

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You do realize that you will need a male and 3-4 females, right?
Yep i do know that i need a male to 3-4 females but im planning to have 1 male to 5 females. thanks!!!

By the way how do you cure a pop- eyed disease? my greshakei had it and im pretty worried since it is my first time to encounter that kind of problem. i always encounter fin-rot but i always cure it very easy. How about pop-eyed disease? :?

·
Registered
18,306 Posts
If you're having problems with fin rot and eyes, you need to take a good look at your water quality and tank maintenance habits. Usually, they stem from poor water quality.

Eye issues can also stem from an injury, or be a precursor to a bacterial infection.

Daily water changes and Melafix will usually resolve the problem, but sometimes antibiotics are needed.

HTH

Kim

·
Registered
18,306 Posts
No, Melafix is a natural product, sold almost everywhere in LFS. The main ingredient is tea tree oil. It aids in healing and preventing bacterial infection, although it won't do much of anything once bacterial infection sets in.

I know there is home made recipe for it floating around the internet somewhere, if you can't find it!

Kim

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I Think Melafix is only available in the U.S. Im in the Philippines. But you do know what Methylene Blue is??? Ifr yes, can i use it to cure my greshakei?