Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, my Kenyi has been holding now for 3 weeks and fingers crossed she doesnt spit until after tomorrow :D the reason being im just going about setting up a grow out tank which is gonna be a 17 Gallon one *** just purchased and im setting up first thing in the morning, it has come with an under gravel filter system which i have never used before so im just wanting to check that this is suitable for raising them in? also i plan on having Gravel in this tank as im guessing sand (thats in my main tank) and the under gravel filter system wouldnt work well together, this is my first time growing out fry so any tips anyone can give me would be good, I plan on taking the water out of my main Tank to fill it with and Moving my Holding Kenyi staight into it, also do i need to take some filter media out of my established set up into the filter system of the breeder/grow out tank? thanks

·
Registered
414 Posts
i dont think undergravel would be great, when you add in the fry food sometimes it takes a while for them to find it, which is why barebottom tanks are good. also, sometimes they dont eat it all, with barebottom tank you can just siphon the uneated food out easily. i know a guy that swars by raising baby plecos with undergravel filter, but he feeds them larger chunks of food that cant dissapear into the filter plate.

·
Registered
169 Posts
personally i use the undergravel in all my tanks. Just have to be alot more diligent at keeping the food up if you use one in a fry tank.

·
Registered
105 Posts
You want to make sure to put more than just your tank water in your fry tank. The bacteria don't live in the water they mainly live in your filter, substrate (sand) and on decorations. Add some filter media from your established tank to the filter if your fry tank, that should do the trick.

·
Super Moderator
40,480 Posts