Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Seems as though this may be a loaded question...I am new to cichids only tank. (lseveral years of freshwater experience, angels/silver dollars gourami.) I got an adult front with a tank years ago and I sold him for next to nothing, I had no idea, I just wanted the tank. He was sweet and I missed him ever since.

I have a 150 gallon looking to stock fronts and parrots. Searched the internet. some say do some say don't. They both seem friendly non-agressive enough, have not done anything yet. advice. FYI, I really do not want to breed fronts.

·
Super Moderator
4,129 Posts
If you provide good living conditions for your frontosa - clean water, sufficient food, suitably sized tank - they will breed. They'll never ask you if you want them to do that :lol:

Regarding blood parrot cichlids, I can see the attraction of wanting to combine a red fish with the blue of the frontosa. However, I could not in good conscience recommend the keeping of blood parrot cichlids to anybody. There is a lot of ado made about them being hybrids, and reasonable people can have long discussions about the pro and cons of creating hybrids and never agree. I won't even open that can of worms.

An entirely different point is that blood parrot cichlids are bred to have anatomical deformities. The deformities are not the same in all blood parrots, but I have never seen a blood parrot that was not deformed. Deformities can include a beak-shaped mouth that cannot fully close, abnormal swim bladders that cause an awkward swimming pattern, abnormal spines contributing to the fish's unique shape, and unusually large irises. If you want to know more about this, you could start your reading for example here.