Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dear all,

This is my first post on this page. Just a small introduction I have been keeping fish for the past 20 years. I am 30 years old and live in the small island of Malta which is in the middle of the Mediterranean Sea. My wife and I have bought our own apartment and in one of the rooms I am currently building my fishroom.

I know that I was hasty and should have asked for professional advice before but please bear with me and guide me on whether or not the floor on this room will hold what I plan to have.

I will mainly use the metric system as that is what we use in Malta.

The room measures 3.57m in lenght and 3.16m in width. (11'9 x 10'4). It is situated in the 2nd floor. Beneath me there is my neighbor's kitchen/dining room which was converted to an open plan and thus the wall beneath my wall on the left hand side of the fishroom was converted to an arched doorway. The right hand side wall is untouched. In Malta we use mainly concrete slabs for flooring and most of the slabs are 6-8 inches thick.

Beneath their kitchen/dining room their is a room (with no divisory wall) used as an store/engine room for a flower shop. This forms part of a large garage which is situated on ground floor. Beneath this garage is a complex of small garages. My left hand side wall will be above the open space of this garage complex.

I have insulated the room by covering all four walls and ceiling with 2 inch thick high density (15kg/cubic meter) polystyrene sheets. Also the floor has a marine carpet (the one used on boats) to further insulate the room. I was planning to install an air-con unit of 12000 btu to help cool down the temperature in summer and help warm the temperature up in winter.