Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, here's my 1st post:(by the way,I am new to this )
I am currently attempting a fish less cycle.
I will be using pure ammonia (10%) grade.
I have cichlid sand as a substrate w/ the beneficial bacteria .(it came wet and sealed)
I will be using a bio wheel from a tank that is up and running.
The tank is ten gallons.
My question is, how do I calculate the 5ppm that I need for this 10 gal. tank since I don't have a test that will read accurately to that range?
I will be using a Marineland Penguin 100B Power Filter
My best guess with the math I did is .2 of a cubic centimeter.
Lets see what all you fine folks have to say
Thanks.

·
Registered
830 Posts
well for a 10 gallon tank, if you already have a cycled filter than you do not need to use ammo to cycle it... :?

the reason you use the ammo if for new filters that do not have any beneficial bacteria build up. so if your filter is already good then that tank should be good. also a tank that small is easy since you can do daily water changes until it can catch up.

BUT if you want to be on the safe side, add .5 tsp of ammo to the tank. for 2 days. then wait about 5 days, do a 50% WC and it should be good to go. this would reinforce the filter and make sure it wont have any ammo spikes from fish and waste.

also what is going in the tank??? 10g is small so just wondering. :fish:

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The purpose of this exercise was to basically was to prove my local fish store wrong..(lol).(I got the rolled eyes and was told fishless cycle was a myth)and to prove to myself it works/don't work
but to answer your question...I have 1 young green terror about to come out of a 5 gal hospital tank and I'm going to let him stretch his fins a little when hes all better.
Thanks for your help, My fish and I appreciate it.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·