Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, Just joined and just getting into keeping malawi's.
And need some help id'ing this fish please, also would this be a male or female? Guessing a male.

"PICCY BELOW"

many thanx in advance
Ben
:D

·
Registered
19 Posts
I'm new at this as well but I came across a profile and thought it might be your fish.

Labidochromis sp. "Mbamba" , Check out the third picture of the male.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi mate, thanx for the info, I did spot that one, although very simlar, the Labidochromis sp. "Mbamba" has a lot more yellow in their tails than mine,
although maybe mine's a youngen and this will come with age?

but def the nearest match so far,,
thank you

·
Registered
6,748 Posts
Young Cynotilapia afra (no variant just the usual tank bred variant cross) would be my guess as I think these are more common in LFSs in the UK than Labidochromis sp. "Mbamba".

Just a guess, too many BB Mbuna look the same to me. :oops: :)

Though to be honest I find these hard to tell from some young BB Metriaclima zebras TB (variant cross) also a common fish in LFSs here. :oops:

Mouth looks wrong for Labidochromis sp. "Mbamba" to me.

All the best James

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
thanx for the info guys,,
he's a couple of extra pictures, now a bit bigger if it sheds anymore light
thanx again
Ben
:)

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
24Tropheus said:
Young Cynotilapia afra (no variant just the usual tank bred variant cross) would be my guess as I think these are more common in LFSs in the UK than Labidochromis sp. "Mbamba".

Just a guess, too many BB Mbuna look the same to me. :oops: :)

Though to be honest I find these hard to tell from some young BB Metriaclima zebras TB (variant cross) also a common fish in LFSs here. :oops:

Mouth looks wrong for Labidochromis sp. "Mbamba" to me.

All the best James