Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm new to the hobby of husbanding Malawi Cichlids in a 24 galllon aquarium that was started in early February. The water temp has been maintained at 78°F, the Ph has been between 7.2 and 8.5 (mainly above 8.0), the Gh has fluctuated between 7°-10°dH, the Kh has fluctuated between 7°-11°dH, nitrates are maintained below 30, no nitrites ever detected, but I have have two ammonia outbreaks that I quickly remedied with Stability and 50% water changes. Every two week I vacuum the gravel and change out 35 to 50% of the water.

The probelm is that I have lost one fish about two weeks (a female Metriaclima lombardoi) ago (about 1 week after a percieved but not confirmed ammonia outbreak or oxygen defficiency issue) and it appears a second (a Labidochromis caeruleus, Kakusa)is not doing well I have her in Isolation. Both fish seemed to stop eating at first and hang around the top of the aquarium near the filter entrance followed by hiding as if they were stressed. There is much activity in the tank by the other fish, chasing and playing but I've never seen bite marks on any of the fish (no missing fins).

The other fish are 1 Aulonocara jacobfreibergi (Otter Pt.), 2 melanochromis auratus, 1 more Krakusa, and 2 Pseudotropheus.